Vegan Kahlua Chocolate Cupcakes

There are plenty of things I should have done after work today:  grade papers, go to the gym, put away laundry…but I didn’t want to do any of those things.  So instead, I baked.

Baking is not only my go-to procrastination tool; for me, baking is kind of like meditation.  Throughout the day, my mind is constantly in 5 million different directions at once.  It’s really a miracle that I’m still sane…despite what some may say.  So when I need to escape and relax and wine is not readily available, I bake.  What is so refreshing is that I don’t really think about anything when I bake.  I’m too busy completely in the zone.  It’s a straight-up flow state of mind.

Tonight I was inspired by the Kahlua on my kitchen countertop. It had been lonely too long, ever since breaking up with a white russian, so I decided to match it up with some chocolate, and in what better form than a mini-cupcake.

Mini-cupcakes are, by logic, the cutest things ever.  It’s already a well-established fact that things in mini-form are cuter.  Since cupcakes are already mini-versions of cake, mini-cupcakes are technically a mini-form of a mini-form–therefore, cuteness to the second power.  Go ahead.  Check my math.  I ain’t scurred.

The cake itself is surprisingly light and moist.  The flavor, thanks to the  buttercream frosting, is a hefty little kick of delicious kahlua.  Good luck not licking the spoon, you lush.  Next time, I’ll try to punch up the chocolate flavor a little more, but I’m not complaining.  This is a work in progress and I welcome ideas.  Maybe a drizzle of chocolate syrup, or a little chocolate something-something in the frosting.
Really, my only complaint right now is that it’s not yet Saturday, when I will be embarking on a 7-day cruise in the Carribean to Jamaica, Grand Cayman, and Cozumel.   It’s my first cruise, and I’m insanely excited to get away.  Baking is a great escape, but let’s see what a giant boat ride can do.

Vegan Chocolate Kahlua Mini-Cupcakes
1 1/4 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup kahlua
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp distilled apple cider vinegar
Kahlua Buttercream (I don’t like a lot of frosting on my cupcakes, but if you do, you should probably double this.)
4 tbls vegan margarine (room temperature)
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1-2 tbls of kahlua
1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees and place mini-cupcake liners in mini-cupcake pan.
2.  In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients.  Add wet ingredients.  Mix until well-blended.
3. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full of batter.  Bake in the oven for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
4. In a new bowl, beat together the powdered sugar and margarine.  Beat in the kahlua.  Adjust proportions to taste.
5.  Remove from oven and let cool slightly.  Brush a little extra kahlua on the top of each.
6.  Frost when completely cool.
For the roomies...
For the roomies...
2 thoughts on “Vegan Kahlua Chocolate Cupcakes”

Leave a Reply

