Goal-Setting for Gluttons

One of the rules of successful goal-setting, that I just now made up, is this: don’t make contradictory goals.  For example, don’t set a goal to never drink beer again while setting another goal to start your own brewery.  You will not set yourself up for success. Common sense enough, right?  Another example: don’t set a goal to get super fit while also setting a goal to make perfect pastries from scratch.  Well, despite my own thoroughly researched advice, I have set those two goals.

My goal of getting fit came first, and I had been doing an ok job the past month and a half:  joining a gym, getting myself to go to the gym, working out regularly, eating decently, etc.  Then I went on vacation to Florida, where it became a distant memory.

Before I went to Florida, however, I bought a few sessions with a personal trainer at my gym, something I had never done before.  I figured I could use someone to kick my ass and teach me how to correctly use the machines in the gym.  My first session was yesterday, the morning RIGHT after I came back from my weeklong junk-eating, laying-around extravaganza in Florida.  Short story short, I almost threw up during the workout.

Afterwards, to make myself feel better, I went to Half Price Books and bought a book about making puff pastry.  The second goal, to make the perfect puff pastries, came about before I went to Florida.  I had made some pastelitos de guayaba (guava pastries) like I always do, using Pepperidge Farm Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets.  My friends enjoyed them, but they tasted so bland to me. That’s when the wheels started turning and I decided I would learn how to make awesome puff pastry from scratch.

After I bought the book at Half Price, I went grocery shopping and bought some kitchen supplies I didn’t have.  As much as I love baking, I had managed to survive almost a year in my apartment without a roller.  (One time I used a wine bottle I wrapped in plastic wrap…)  I got home, put my supplies out on the counter, and…took a three hour nap.  The exhaustion from the workout caught up with me.

I did manage to make myself some dinner, a Crunchy Curry Pasta Salad.  Since I needed to save a greek yogurt cup from expiration, I adapted a dip recipe from the June issue of Women’s Health (Sweet-And-Spicy Yogurt) for the “sauce.”

I combined a cup of greek yogurt with 1/4 cup diced peaches, 1 1/2 tsp of curry powder, 1/4 tsp of cumin, and a 1/4 tsp of salt.  I also added a little bit black pepper, cayenne, and a few drops of sriracha sauce to taste, because I wanted a little more kick.  I put this mixture in the fridge while the whole wheat elbow macaroni cooked.  Once it was done, I drained it and then mixed it with chopped carrots and cabbage (which I bought prechopped at Whole Foods–so convenient) and the yogurt sauce.  The next step would have been putting it in the fridge to let the flavors develop, but I was really hungry…I put half in the fridge and the other half in a bowl to eat leisurely on the balcony while I plotted my pastry plan for the next day.

Leave a Reply

