Spinach Tomato Egg Drop Soup

Most of what I cook comes from cravings.  I crave, then I cook.  A couple days ago I was craving egg drop soup but I didn’t have any stock.  I found this vegetarian egg drop soup recipe from Nina Simond’s A Spoonful of Ginger and adapted it to what I had in my pantry and fridge, i.e. organic spinach, onion, and tomato.   I also wanted to use an organic portabello mushroom I had sitting in my fridge so I decided to marinate it in balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, and olive oil, roast it for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees, and then stuffed it with cooked spinach, leftover barley, and local goat cheese.  Sometimes the most satisfying meals come from throwing together what you currently have in your pantry or fridge.  That egg drop soup (with some drops of sriracha sauce, which I put on almost everything) was liquid happiness.  I was also really hungry, so that might have something to do with it.

Spinach Tomato Egg Drop Soup

  • 1 ½ tsp vegetable oil
  • ½ cup chopped tomatoes
  • ¼ cup finely chopped onion
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce, or to taste
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste
  • ½ cup of frozen spinach
  • 1 1/2 tbsp corn starch mixed with 3 tbsp water
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • Sriracha sauce to taste
  • A dash of sesame oil to taste

Heat oil in a soup pot until hot. Add tomatoes and onions, and stir fry for about a minute. Add the soy sauce and continue to stir fry for another minute or so. Add the water and salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium. Add spinach and stir.  Add the corn starch mixed with water slowly and stir rapidly to prevent lumps.  Once it’s thick, slowly add the beaten eggs and stir gently.  The egg will cook and form streams.  Remove from heat.  Taste and adjust seasonings.  Eat!

3 thoughts on “Spinach Tomato Egg Drop Soup”

Leave a Reply

