Marché

Marché is a charming European-style café in east Nashville that serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner.  I met my lovely friend Julie there for brunch this past Sunday, thinking that I had never been there before, but when I walked into the large, open restaurant, I instantly remembered that I had, in fact, been there a couple of years ago.  (Look at that, at the ripe age of 21 I’m already losing my memory.)

Blood Orange Mimosa

“Walked into” is perhaps not accurate.  People waiting for their tables awkwardly crowded the entrance area since there’s no designated place to wait; instead, they have various goods on sale by the door, such as marmalades, honey, ham, and sausage.  They even had some “local” eggs and milk.  We got there around 10am so luckily we didn’t have to wait too long.

The restaurant has a fresh rustic style, and the dining area is surrounded by huge glass windows that let in lots of light.  We were seated right next to the window, so it almost felt like we were outside.  Julie and I both ordered the two eggs any style on a croissant with Boar’s Head ham and gruyere cheese, which came with a refreshing plain green salad.  Feeling gluttonous, we both ordered something sweet: Julie, the half order of croissant French toast, and me, the strawberry shortcake with a sweet cornmeal biscuit and whipped cream, in old Southern style.  The croissant French toast is a lighter, crispier, flakier version of traditional French toast that is just as amazing as it sounds.  If I ever go back, I’m definitely getting a full order of it.

Marché is a little pricy for a college student, but it was a nice treat on a sunny Sunday morning, the food was great, and it didn’t leave me comatose like brunch often does.

2 thoughts on “Marché”

Leave a Reply

