Who Says Crepes Can’t Be a Midnight Snack?

I’m a little crazy.  I know this.  That is why when one of my roommates walked into the kitchen at one in the morning to find me eating crepes, I completely understood the quizzical look on her face.  I was doing laundry at midnight on a Saturday night, which is also a little crazy, and I was really hungry.  Earlier in the day I had found a basic recipe for crepes on All Recipes and wanted to try them.  I really couldn’t think of a better time than that very moment.

On Sundays, my mom would occasionally make crepes stuffed with a ricotta and sugar mix and topped with strawberries and whipped cream, but I had never made them myself.  The crepes were a little tricky at first because the burners on our stove are not level, thus uneven thickness, and crepes are really hard to flip.  True to my mission, most of the ingredients I used were organic, and two, the eggs and milk, were actually local.  I didn’t have ricotta or berries, unfortunately, so I filled mine with things I had on hand from a shopping trip last week at the Turnip Truck Natural Market (post on this later in the week): yogurt mixed with coconut, sugar, and vanilla extract.  Then I roasted coconut shavings in the pan I had cooked the crepes in to sprinkle on top. The yogurt filling was good, but it would have been nicer if it was thicker.  Some other fillings/toppings I’d like to try are nutella and bananas, fruit preserves, or savory fillings like mushrooms, spinach, and cream cheese.   Perhaps guava and cheese, a popular filling in Cuban pastelitos (pastries), could be tasty.  I think crepes are one of my new favorite things.

Here is the basic crepe recipe, compliments of All Recipes.

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Whisk together wet ingredients (you can add a little vanilla if you’d like), then slowly whisk in the dry ingredients.  Lightly grease a pan (I used spray butter) and heat on medium-high.  When pan is heated, pour about 1/4 cup of the liquid into the pan.  When it sets and the bottom browns slightly, flip over and brown other side.  Repeat with the rest of mixture.  Makes about 8 crepes.

For my filling, I added sugar, grated coconut, and vanilla to taste to plain low-fat yogurt.

A few words about the milk I used:  I used skim milk from Hatcher Family Dairy in Arno, Tennessee.  They sell their products in several places including the farmer’s market, the Turnip Truck, and the Whole Foods in Green Hills. Their cows are hormone-free and forage on grass, unlike factory-farmed cows whose feed include ground corn, which their stomachs cannot handle so it makes them sick and destroys their livers, hence the antibiotics they are often pumped with.  Since two of the Hatcher family members are veterinarians, whenever their cows are sick, they are treated with the latest antibiotics, but the milk of these cows is discarded until the medicine leaves their systems.  Their website says that they treat their cows like members of the family–members of the family that they milk.  Anyway, I’ve bought their milk two times in a row, and I’ve been really satisfied with their product.  It also makes me feel better to support a local farm that treats their cows humanely.

Leave a Reply

