Shakespeare, William Shakespeare

Yesterday was my lucky day.  I was at work, dreadfully tired due to lack of sleep, and looking forward to going home and getting into bed early.  Everyday, I’ve been putting myself in the virtual line for 12th Night, just to see if perchance I’d get tickets and be able to see it again.  After over a week of rejections, I pretty much figured the virtual line was a hoax.  Anyway, I kept putting myself in the lottery.  Much later, forgetting that I had applied, I checked to see if I got tics, and lo and behold…the writing was green, not rejection red, “Congratulations!!!”  I gasped, and momentarily mourned the fact I’d get virtually no sleep that night (play’s done late and commute to Jersey is long).  I invited by friend Angela to come along.

We met up by Gate 3 of the Delacourt Theatre, sitting on a bench, talking, and waiting for them to start letting people in.  I was doing a lot of people watching, as always, and I look up and saw a man.  It took me three seconds for it to dawn on me who I was looking at.

Second 1:  That man looks familiar…

Second 2: Wait, I think that’s…

Second 3: PIERCE BROSNAN, OH MY GOD.

I elbowed Angela and told her.  We grinned and silently giggled like fangirls while he walked around a bit, finally settling on standing RIGHT NEXT TO US.  He is a gorgeous man.  I’ve always thought he was handsome, but in person it’s like a whole ‘nother level.  He is tall, distinguished, and of course, really really ridiculously good-looking.  He’s the sexiest old man I’ve seen.  We didn’t bother him of course because he was there to enjoy a play obviously.  Some lady asked for a picture and he said, “No. No, thank you. No.”

It was my first time seeing a celebrity in the real world, and it was in New York City, in Central Park, with tickets I scored with sheer luck.  It really was my lucky day.  The play was just as good as the first time (I think I could see it every night!) and I left with the same full bliss as before, walking out in Central Park wanting to be in love.  Not looking for love though.  After all, in the fair Olivia’s words:

Love sought is good, but given unsought is better.  —Twelfth Night, 3. 1

Leave a Reply

