Bites: Have a cupcake, it'll make you feel betta

  • I truly believe in the healing power of cupcakes.  After a particularly hellish day at work, a co-worker and I went back to Magnolia, where I had their caramel cupcake for the first time.  It was the best damn cupcake I’ve ever had.  The frosting was nice and light with a creamy gob of caramel on top, and they somehow managed to almost caramelize the edges of the cupcake which made it DIVINE RULER OF CUPCAKES.  Needless to say, I felt perfectly happy after that and my work day was far in the past.
  • The next day we cut out of work early and went to a fruit stand.  We bought raspberries and some perfectly ripe and juicy nectarines, and ate them in Central Park.  Central Park is amazing.  It’s gorgeous and every part is different.  You could explore it for days. (We only had a few hours.)  All the people being active, having fun, chilling out, living…I don’t know what it is, but something about Central Park makes me want to fall head over heels in love, lol.  For now, I’ll just be in love with Central Park…and fresh fruit…and caramel cupcakes…
  • I finally had some Cuban food, only I didn’t cook it.  Nonetheless, it was quite delicious.  My aunt, uncle, cousin, and I went to visit my abuelo in West New York, and afterwards we went to a Cuban restaurant around there, Rumba Cubana (corner of Broadway and 75th).  The menu had a great selection of Cuban cuisine, and the atmosphere was tropical and laid-back.  We had mofongo to start–it was good but they used too much garlic, practically kicked back when I bit into it.  (The origins of mofongo, fried platains that are crushed with garlic and pork cracklings, are shady since it’s a part of Dominican and Puerto Rican cuisine as well.  Good ole Wikipedia suggests that it has its origins in an African dish called fufu.)  For my main course I had congri and lechon asado (pork with mojo sauce), with fried plantains and avocado.  My uncle had masitas de puerco (chunks of fried pork) and my aunt ate vaca frita (fried beef).  It was comfort food for sure.  I’m smiling just thinking about it. cubanfoodcollage
  • I tried two new places today.  For lunch I went to Guy & Gallard, which has a great selection of high-quality foods–sandwiches, salads, wraps, etc.  They have an extensive build-your-own-salad station that was very popular with the lunch crowd.  I had intended on getting a salad, but everything just sounded so interesting.  I stood around for 10 minutes trying to decide, until finally spitting out a random number for a sandwich to the guy taking orders.  I ended up with a prosciutto, mozarella, roasted red pepper and arugula sandwich, which was quite delicious.  I really like this place and will be going back.  I just wish I had the money to go often–they’re not outrageous for NY but for my college student wallet eating there a lot would be detrimental.
    The second place was Papaya Dog, which is a popular destination for hot dogs.  I had dog of course, which I topped with ketchup, mustard, chili, and sauerkraut (I know, I’m weird.)  The dog was good (pretty much what you expect out of a hot dog), but I really loved their papaya drink.  I think it was because I was absolutely parched, and it was the perfect thing at the moment–not too sweet, just right.
Leave a Reply

