Egg Salad, Because When You're Sick, Your Breath Is Already Rancid, So Why Not?

I don’t know what it is, but being sick makes me ravenous.   I’m at home sick, and all I want to do is eat.  I stayed home from work because unlike everything in this house, an hour and a half commute at 7 am while feeling like my head was going to explode into shiny brainfetti was just not appetizing.

Of course, my insatiable need for food depends on what kind of sick I am–if I’m nauseated and can’t keep anything down, I don’t feel like eating, unless I’m feeling particularly stubborn…But if I’m just hacking up my lungs every 5 minutes, bring on the bacon.

I’ve tried controlling myself today because my sickness caused me to consume two large pieces of lasagna and cinnamon raisin bread yesterday and made me wake up in the middle of the night with chest-splitting heartburn.  I haven’t been entirely successful to be honest.  But for lunch, I decided I wanted to make an egg salad sandwich, probably the weirdest thing I’ve craved while being sick.  eggsaladcollage

Egg salad looks wholly unappetizing; it’s a chunky gob of egg and mayonnaise, generally.  I’m not a huge fan of mayonnaise, so I always go light.  My aunt and uncle have a pretty good spice selection so I tried a few things.  My egg salad was basically egg, mayonnaise, mustard, salt, pepper, red onion, paprika, thyme, and tarragon.  I’ve never used thyme and tarragon but I loved how they smelled.  The thyme reminded me of oregano, and the tarragon had a sweet evergreen-like smell.   I slapped the egg salad on some wheat bread and my aunt and I feasted (she’s taking a sick day too).

It was quite good, but I couldn’t really distinguish the seasonings.  I don’t know if I should have added more, or if egg salad just doesn’t take them well.  The onion did a great job with flavor and an ok job adding some crunch, but I wonder what celery would have done.  Anyway, as simple as it was, it was nice being in the kitchen actually making something again.  I’ve come to realize recently that I still have a lot to learn about cooking, but I’m looking forward to a delicious education.

My brother's remedy for sickness is tea and a good movie.  I don't like tea, but I tried this Tazo Passion one my aunt had in the cupboard and really enjoyed it.  This + Grey's Anatomy worked very well on my cold. : )
My brother's remedy for sickness is tea and a good movie. I don't like tea, but I tried this Tazo Passion one my aunt had in the cupboard and really enjoyed it. I didn't have a movie, but this tea plus Grey's Anatomy was a pretty great remedy. : )
Leave a Reply

