Bites

I haven’t had much opportunity or energy to cook because of my 1.25 hr commute to and from the city every day.  Hopefully that’ll change soon.  In place of that, here’s some bites from my food life since I’ve been here:

  • My favorite place for breakfast near work so far has been Europa Cafe on 7th Avenue.  They’ve got b-fast sandwiches, bagels, omelets, yogurt and granola, oatmeal, etc.  It’s made when you order, and it’s very tasty.  Everything has a calorie count listed, which is both good and bad.  I’ve only been there for lunch once–a pastrami sandwich with sauerkraut and spicy mustard–but I was highly pleased.  Hot fresh pastrami. *Druel*  I was starving at the time since at work I get too busy to eat sometimes, so I may be biased.
  • I went to the famous Magnolia Bakery for cupcakes, which Carrie and Samantha visited in Sex and the City, and was far from disappointed.  It smelled AMAZING in there.  The decor is as sweet as the treats.  They have more than cupcakes too.  I went back for cheesecake on another occasion and ate it in Central Park, watching the runners and bikers work their asses off while increasing the size of mine.

magnolia

  • I have yet to eat a mouthgasm-inducing slice of New York pizza.  Both times I’ve had pizza it has been meh.  Still need to visit Little Italy…
  • Have been surprised at the amount of fro-yo shops.  Vandy girls would be pleased.  One is Pinkberry, which I remember being featured in a credit card commercial. Haven’t tried it.
  • Went to a polish restaurant in Brooklyn Heights the other day.  It consists of a lot of beige food–potatoes, sauerkraut…not totally appealing but the kielbasa was great.
The Polish Platter
The Polish Platter
  • Am thrilled that I am able to order sushi and get it delivered to work–good sushi too.  I’d like to try an upscale sushi place.  Speaking of…

Before I leave here, I want to dress up and go to a nice restaurant in New York City, I mean NICE.  Just want one night to feel like a rich Manhattanite with money to spend on GREAT food.  Now, I’m no food snob…but for one night, I want to live like it…

Leave a Reply

