It’s Morón, Moron; or, Morón–Land of the Cock

torticasdemoron

Torticas de Morón are really simple cookies, made from just vegetable shortening, sugar, flour, and lemon zest.  (See Recipes So Far tab)  They get their name because they come from Morón, Cuba, which is where my dad happened to be born.  He was the one actually that taught me how to make them.  It was the fourth grade and the 4-H club was holding little competitions in my class for some reason.  I loved these cookies so I wanted to make them.  So my dad taught me, we baked them, and I brought them to school fully expecting to win because how could anyone deny the deliciousness of these cookies?  I was shocked when I didn’t.   I remember distinctly attributing it to the fact that the cookies were much too exotic for the white southern judge and that she just couldn’t understand.

The cookie’s name can be a bit confusing to people unfamiliar with Spanish or Cuba since the only thing separating “Morón” and moron is an accent mark.  This is a running joke with my dad though.  One time when I was little, he and his friend were in the living froom while my brother and I were watching Space Jam and when the movie showed Moron Mountain, my dad jokingly said, “Hey, that’s where I’m from!” .  We also have a shed in our backyard that has a metal painted rooster and the word Morón above the door, and on more than one occasion someone has asked me why my shed said “moron” on it.  The rooster is kind of Morón’s mascot, el Gallo de Morón.  It just adds one more dimension of fun, as the immature title of post indicates.

The supposed legend behind the Rooster of Morón after the jump. (In Spanish)

From http://www.juanperez.com/tradiciones/gallo.html:

Allá por el año 1,500 se dividieron en dos bandos los vecinos, se enardecieron los ánimos y libraron verdaderas batallas. La Cancillería de Granada envió un juez con fama de matón, para poner orden, que repetía siempre “donde canta este gallo no canta otro”. Los moronenses cansados de sus bravatas se pusieron de acuerdo y después de dejarlo completamente desnudo lo apalearon; por dicho motivo nació el popular refrán:

“Te vas a quedar con el gallo de Morón sin plumas y cacareando en la mejor ocasión”

Leave a Reply

