This just in: Mother Nature is a harlot

Mother Nature
Add Glitter to Pictures

Mother Nature has decided that she truly hates Nashville.  She’s teased us a few times with warm, breezy weather, even allowing some flowers to bloom and trees to sprout fresh leaves to lull us into a false Spring giddiness.  And then today happens.  Sleet.  Rain.  All day.  Cold.  Wet.  Icy.  That bitch got Jack Frost to shit all over my day.  Whore.

It’s not just the weather, however, that has got me in a funk.  I received some very disappointing news today.  I got into Vanderbilt’s summer study abroad program for Madrid, BUT I got rejected for the grant I applied to.   Unless $8000 falls into my lap in the next week, I can’t go.  I found out that I got into the program last night by email, but seeing nothing about the grant, I stopped by the office today on my way to the gym.  Mousy Lady told me that those who received the grant have already been notified.  I said ok, and left the office in disbelief and disappointment.  Disbelief because I really thought I had a shot, that I just might make it, and the disappointment is self-explanatory.

I sweated through 4 miles at the gym trying to run it out of my system.  I’ve made an appointment with an adviser to talk about any options I may have.  Honestly, I think I’ve almost reconciled myself to the fact that my dream trip to Spain will have to wait a little longer.  I don’t want to just visit Spain; I want to live there for a while.  So I think after graduation I may try to enter one of those teaching programs abroad.  That will be more feesible since I won’t have to pay a tuition (instead be paid a stipend.)  I promised myself I WOULD NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES spend another summer in Columbia, so now I’m going to turn my attention to internships in NYC.  I’m not going to, ahem, fail at life, live with my parents, and work in a crappy restaurant in Columbia until I get an ugly girl pregnant, marry her, and hopefully hang myself.  Oh. Wait.  I’m thinking of somebody else’s future… I think I’ve made myself feel better already…Keepin’ it positive!

Leave a Reply

