Huevos Habaneros–Sort Of

huevoshabaneros

When I got back home from Nashville, the first thing I wanted to do was cook, so I peeked into the pantry and fridge to take inventory of what we had and then flipped through a couple of cookbooks.  I found a recipe for Huevos Habaneros in Memories of a Cuban Kitchen.  We had eggs and some spices, but we were actually missing a lot of the ingredients, so I did what any desperate cook would do: I improvised.  I made my own version of Huevos Habaneros, which is basically a baked egg on top of sofrito.

I was appalled that there was no olive oil in the house so I had to use a tablespoon or so of vegetable oil in the skillet, which I used to saute chopped onions and minced garlic.  Once the onion was tender I added some leftover canned diced tomato and peppers we had and a little spaghetti sauce.   Then I added various spices: cumin, pepper, salt, oregano, and chili powder.  We didn’t have any dry sherry like the recipe called for so I used a Spanish cabernet we had.  I don’t know if that’s a valid substitution, but it didn’t hurt.  On a whim, I decided to chop up a little bit of smoked jalapeno sausage we had an added it to the skillet.  After it thickened, I turned off the heat and put it into the ramekin.  Next, I cracked an egg in a bowl and slid it on top of the mixture, drizzling a bit of melted butter on top.  I carefully put the ramekin on a baking sheet and into a preheated 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes or until the white was set.

It turned out pretty great.  The sausage made it really spicy, which is fine with me, but perhaps overwhelmed the other flavors.  I also wish I would have left the yolk more runny to get more of the egg flavor.  Overall, I’d definitely cook it again.  It makes a great breakfast and it looks cute. : )

huevoshabaneros

Leave a Reply

