A Letter to Rand Dining

Dear Rand,

I appreciate that you have tried to placate the neglected upperclassmen with the Commons-esque Chef James Bistro and have tried to diversify our options with gourmet, lesser known culinary treats.  (Although I’m not sure if I can ever forgive you for destroying Stonehenge.)  I was pleasantly surprised that as one of your grab-and-go items you had a Cuban sandwich.  Imagine my delight that one of the delicious iconic foods of my culture was being distributed for the enjoyment of my peers.  Now…imagine my horror when I read the ingredients and found that it was nothing more that a glorified turkey sandwich with pickles.  Let us review your ingredient list: turkey, ham, salami, swiss, mustard, mayonnaise, pickles, french bread.  Now let us review the ingredients of an AUTHENTIC Cuban sandwich:  seasoned PORK, ham, swiss, mustard, pickles, and AUTHENTIC CUBAN BREAD.  I can forgive you for the salami; some sandwiches do, in fact, include it.  However, you CANNOT have a Cuban sandwich without PORK, and they are NEVER made with turkey or mayonnaise.  You cannot simply make a food exotic and gourmet by giving it a label that it fails to represent.  I hope you will correct this grievous misrepresentation or change the name of your sandwich.

If you need additional assistance in making Cuban sandwiches, this is a very helpful link:  http://icuban.com/food/cuban_sandwich.html

Thank you for your time,
A concerned, somewhat insulted Cuban gourmand

********

I sent them a more concise letter, but equally informative.  It pains me to see people grabbing that sandwich during the lunch rush.  I want to tackle them in slo-mo going, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!”  It is, however, a reminder that I need to go have an authentic Cuban sandwich VERY soon.  I’ve got major cravings.  I’ll see if I can stop by Back to Cuba Cafe this week.

Leave a Reply

