Off of Hiatus: Malanga Fritters and Frozen Fruit Cocktail

It’s been a week since I’ve last written, partly because I didn’t cook much, but also because I got distracted.  I finally got a couple books I ordered from Amazon, one of which was the Big-Ass Book of Crafts which has kept me occupied.  I’ve made some art pieces for my dorm room and a little cd case notebook.  I also read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.  A great book.  It made me laugh out loud at work.  I would say more about it but I’ve got other things to recap.  Work has been the same, but yesterday mom and I went to the flea market in Nashville where I found this amazing painting of a flamenco dancer for…drumroll…2 DOLLARS.  I also got a couple cool bracelets and an pretty print of a french absinthe ad.

I DID cook moros y cristianos again this past week, only this time using can beans and using olive oil instead of slab bacon.  I also used beef broth instead of water but I don’t think it made too much of a taste difference.  I used one can of beans and one cup of rice and it made enough for 2 with leftovers.  I drain the can of beans and set aside the juice.  I measured the juice (it was about a cup), substituting that for a cup of water and then using a cup of beef broth to replace the other cup of water. (…since normally you would use 2 cups of water for 1 cup of rice).  I also rinsed the rice before using it which made a difference in the consistency (turned out better this time).

Last Sunday my mom made us Arroz con Pollo Imperial, a huge rice casserole that includes among other things chicken, cheese and, get this, mayonaisse.  I’m not a fan of mayonnaise but the casserole was great, especially the next day.  It’s a very time consuming process but it yield great, and plentiful, results.  Here’s a link to a recipe: http://www.recipezaar.com/157125

Today I’m making malanga fritters and frozen fruit coctail, which I threw together with stuff from the panty.  Malanga, or taro, is a root vegetable like yuca, very potato-esque.  Mom found some the other day and decided to buy it.  The recipe is the same as the yuca fritters except I just used one beaten egg for this one, added a tbl of flour and mashed all the ingredients together with a fork.  I haven’t fried them yet but I think they’ll be good.

The frozen fruit cocktail I prepared on the fly.  It’s not a cuban dish per say but my grandmother made something like it one time and since I didn’t know all the ingredient I just made a recipe up of my own.  It’s a really refreshing summer dish, but very sweet.  Simple as well.  I used one large can of no sugar added fruit cocktail, half a large can of chunk pineapple, some shredded coconut (maybe 1/2 cup), a can of goya creme of coconut I found at the back of the pantry, a can of condensed milk, a little bit of orange juice (I just finished off the little we had left, maybe 1/4-1/3 of a cup, a dash of vanilla, and a dash of coconut extract.  Basically I put all the ingredients in a bowl and mixed it gently so I didn’t crush the fruit.  Then I poured it into a deep serving dish, covered it in aluminum foil, and put it in the freezer to freeze.  I don’t know how long it will take to freeze but I’m going to check on it tonight and give it a taste.  I tried a little of the liquid before I covered it and it tasted great, kind of like a pina colada, so I think it’ll turn out tasty.  Well, I’m off to fry some fritters.

**Later on: The malanga fritters were a pain in the ass to fry.  They would fall apart in the oil.  A few came out fritter-like.  I don’t know if it was the recipe or the way I fried it or something.  Anyway, it tasted pretty much like the yuca fritters.  The frozen fruit cocktail is good, pretty much tastes just like pina colada :D

Leave a Reply

