Always Read the Directions

I told myself I wasn’t going to cook today, but I couldn’t help it.  I found a recipe in the old Cuban cookbook that I wanted to try, Maravillas de Coco.  They’re basically coconut squares with chocolate on top.  When I read the directions at first I was shocked that it called for a pound of butter (4 sticks).   So I started mixing the batter after a trip to Food Lion and when my dad came in the kitchen I said, “I can’t believe this takes so much butter!”  Then I looked at the book again.  It said 1/4 a pound of butter, one stick.  Oh.  So…I had to trash 4 sticks of butter and start over.  Always read the directions CAREFULLY.  Lesson learned.  Good thing I checked before I started cooking it.

They turned out pretty well.  Very sweet and the brown sugar crust and toasted coconut added a nice crunch.  But oh, I feel disgusting.  I meant to get healthy and in shape this summer but I’ve gotten caught up in this project and have been eating unhealthily.  It seems like eating healthy and eating Cuban food are mutually exclusive.  I’ll have to experiment with some substitutes and start working out again.  I haven’t worked out in more than a week.  Ugh.  Maybe I should limit dessert making to once a week, or make super small portions.  In any case, I’m going to go enjoy the last day of my weekend.  Til tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

