Don't Cry Over Spoiled Hummus

I’m feeling a little morose today due to my realization that I’m not going on an adventure this summer.  My mom and I just dropped my younger brother (17) off at Governor’s School for the Arts, a 5 week summer program for high school students to receive college credit.  (I’m really proud of him being one of the chosen 230 out of over 1200 that applied.)  So he’s going on a summer adventure, in a new place having new experiences.  My friend Angela is off to France for the summer studying French and working at an organic farm for her adventure, in a new place having new experiences.  *sigh*  I wish them both well of course but it just firmly reiterates what my summer will be.  Answering phones.  In an empty office.  I know that the point of my cooking project is to defeat that feeling of boredom and uselessness but I just wasn’t buying it today.  I should plan a little summer adventure but gas isn’t cheap and where would I go that wouldn’t be expensive?  So I’m feeling a little defeated.  However, I did try a recipe:  Black Bean Hummus.

This untraditional recipe is from Memories of a Cuban Kitchen by Mary Urrutia Randelman where I’m getting most of my recipes.  It’s my favorite book out of the cuban cookbooks here at home.  The ingredients are simple: a can of black beans, 1-2 garlic cloves (I used minced garlic instead), 3 tblspoons of olive oil (damn! that’s what I didn’t put enough of!), juice of one lime (I used bottled lime juice), salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of cumin.  Basically you put the ingredients together in a food processor and blend.  Pretty simple.  Sort of.

As I have mentioned briefly in parenthesis I forgot about putting 3 tablespoons of olive oil.  I just kind of absentmindedly put some in, probably less than a tablespoon.  I could probably still fix it but that would interfere with my plans to be lazy.  Secondly, I’m not too great at detecting subtlties of flavor so putting in salt and pepper “to taste” wasn’t exactly helpful.  And finally, I put way too much garlic.  As a result it had a really garlicky kick that I’m still feeling.  I added a little cayenne too to see what happened.  Didn’t notice much of a difference.  I had some with parmesan herb pita chips and it wasn’t that bad.  Just too garlicky.   Ah well.  I tried.  Oh god…I just realized my hummus has more kick than my summer plans.  Depreeeeessing.

Leave a Reply

